Owl Support  

Go Back   Owl Support > General > Bug Report

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2016, 08:26 PM   #1
countach
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Default Blurry and low res

Tried the app but it is very blurry and low resolution on my retina Macbook. Digging a little I think this app uses QT. Did a quick google and there is supposed to be some QT support for retina I think by changing the info.plist. Tried to do it myself but it crashes maybe because it's signed who knows.

Anyway, this blurry low resolution app doesn't really cut it.
countach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 10:47 PM   #2
mircsicz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to mircsicz
Default

I saw it to, it's an early release...

My focus is on giving my board user's opinions, especially as my user's are coming from mailman!

But yes, as my display is 34" (3440 x 1440), I'ld prefer to have it retina capable to.

ECIT: and for me it's great news that it's done with QT, cause then it's portable to Linux too!!
mircsicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 12:09 AM   #3
Addy
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by countach View Post
Tried the app but it is very blurry and low resolution on my retina Macbook. Digging a little I think this app uses QT. Did a quick google and there is supposed to be some QT support for retina I think by changing the info.plist. Tried to do it myself but it crashes maybe because it's signed who knows.

Anyway, this blurry low resolution app doesn't really cut it.
The app is signed (has to be in order to be on the Mac App Store) so that's probably why manually editing the Info.plist doesn't work.

This has been logged as an enhancement here: http://www.owlclient.com/bugs/view.php?id=167

It will be resolved in the next release (coming in the next few weeks).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mircsicz View Post
ECIT: and for me it's great news that it's done with QT, cause then it's portable to Linux too!!
Owl does in fact use Qt. Currently only the Windows and OSX versions are published tho. If there's a demand for Linux, that could be done.
Addy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 09:57 PM   #4
mircsicz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to mircsicz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Addy View Post
Owl does in fact use Qt. Currently only the Windows and OSX versions are published tho. If there's a demand for Linux, that could be done.
Yes there's demand, at least among my user's... ;-)
mircsicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.